Halfway there (nearly)

I’m almost two weeks in to my April writing adventure. I got off to a slow start, and by that I mean it was day four before I even put any words on paper. But now I’m less than 400 words off target (pennies, in the grand scheme of things).

I’ve been using a few tricks I’ve picked up from my online writing class, even though I’ve neglected it for a few weeks. Mostly, I’ve been reaping the benefits of taking the time to plan and outline my story.

Maybe it’s that it is less pressure than the 50k in November, but it sure seems way easier to write when I’ve planned it out and know where to go next. I don’t spend as much time trying to decide what makes sense next, or trying to think of how to get from here to there. It’s all planned out for me.

On the flip side, however, there isn’t quite as much room for my characters to surprise me, or for the story to take an unexpected turn. But, this may be because it’s a story for kids, therefore, it’s a little more simplistic. I want them to be able to follow the progress logically. It’s not exactly my goal to blow their minds at any point in the story. It also may be that my character is a twelve-year-old, and this isn’t my first rodeo. I can anticipate how Molly thinks. I’ve been there before. I’ve babysat kids of that age many times. There isn’t a whole lot I can’t anticipate, and I’m sure that is a contributing factor as well.

Overall, I think I’ll have to get more planning attempts under my belt to know if it’s the planning that takes away that element of surprise (or ignorance). And from there I’ll have to decide which I want more: the ease of the plan or the added adventure of not knowing quite where we are going.

One thought on “Halfway there (nearly)

  1. Billie

    Sure sounds like you are on the right track with your writing. I am so very proud of you for sticking with it. By the way, when you come up in June I have the 4th edition of Therapeutic Communication for Health Care Professionals for you. I just received copies a couple of weeks ago. I am now busy working on the 6th edition of the comprehensive text. You’re doing a 50K in November! WOW. I’m doing good to get six plus miles of walking in a week. You go girl!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

