Then end of the road (and the story)

I did it.

I finished my children’s story, and two days ahead of schedule.

I’m not sure how much of my children’s writing class I tied in, I think a lot of it will be worked through in the editing (which may or may not ever happen…), but I can talk about mapping out the story, and how that affected my writing process this month.

Having never done much planning before I write, there have been many times where, I come up to the end of my story several thousand words before I need to. (And I believe in allowing the story to end where it will, unless I’m doing National Novel Writing Month, or, in this case, Camp NaNoWriMo, and I have a specific word count goal I’m chasing, then, be prepared for lots of word padding.) This time, however, I was almost spot on in my prediction of how many words the story would/could be. Twenty thousand was right on track, I only had to make up a few hundred at the end.

In terms of meeting a goal, then, planning out the story and writing even just a brief outline like I did helps me know if the story I’ve come up with will fit with that goal. Also, as I think I mentioned in another post, it helped me get from point A to point B faster, I didn’t have to drag out scenes or write long internal monologues because I felt like I needed a higher word count before I moved on.

What I did learn specifically from this adventure is that I’m not sure I like writing for children. Sure, there are fun aspects of it, but, I like to use fancy words, and sometimes I come up with something humorous that I don’t want to let go of, but it would go way over kids’ heads.

But perhaps that just means I need more practice. And with only myself as a judge for what of my writing is good and what isn’t, let’s be honest, I don’t really know. I’m rather attached to all of it, because its all part of me.

I really enjoyed taking the time this April to work on and complete a project. Too often in my life I let myself get busy (or lazy), and I tell myself I don’t have time to write, or I choose to do other things. Setting aside the month to work on a short project reminded me of how much I enjoy writing, even if it never sees the light of day. I always remember that when I take time to write, and maybe with a month of practice and a little resolve, I will make it a habit.

There are several projects on my computer that would really appreciate that.

One thought on “Then end of the road (and the story)

  1. Billie

    So, will I ever get to read your story? I’m so proud of you and your many accomplishments. Looking so forward to seeing you soon. love ya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

