A Gentleman in Moscow

I love Russian history. I’m not sure what it is about Russia that just interests me.

When I saw an advanced copy of A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles, I jumped at the chance to read it.

Count Alexander Rostov is placed under house arrest, sentenced to live the rest of his life in the Metropol Hotel, never to set foot outside again.

When I picked it up, I expected a more bitter story, a man left behind and forgotten. But that’s not at all where the story goes.

Rostov continues on, adjusting and adapting to what comes his way, and lives a full life, despite his confinement.

The story is snapshots of his life among snapshots of Russia’s growth, and his interactions show that while the old may be cast aside, it’s not quite thrown away all together.

The story is written with great detail, full of friendship, humor, and some heartache. It’s a story of overcoming and continuing on. I expected a story of a man who watches bitterly as life passes by and forgets him. What I found was a story of a man who meets life’s curve balls with an open mind and a courageous heart.

Keep an eye out for A Gentleman in Moscow, set for publication on September 6. It’s well worth the time to read.

Leave a Reply

