The Worm Ouroboros 

Oroborous Blog

 

When I bought the Worm Ouroboros on clearance for $2 or however much I paid, I didn’t know anything about the story, other than it was similar in style to Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. Even the back of the book provided literally no information on the plot of the story.

But it did not disappoint, even if the old English writing made it a slow read.

The story follows two sets of characters, the Demons of Demonland and the Witches of Witchland (neither being particularly demonic or witchy, except the Witch King). The Demons and Witches find themselves quickly in the midst of a war.

The Demons, however, are torn. Do they fight, or first strive to rescue their missing brother and cousin. (Of the four lords of Demonland, I think they are three brothers and one cousin.)

It definitely is reminiscent of Tolkein and Lewis’ style of world and adventures.

What I particularly enjoyed was the break from the traditional good versus evil. Several times throughout the book I found myself wondering which side I was really supposed to be cheering for. And it was made very clear that even the heroes had darkness and flaws.

The ending also was a surprise, a warning that getting what you want can sometimes leave you empty.

The story had plenty of subplots and action to make it interesting, the only drawback was the thick olde English writing that made it challenging to get through. And when reading correspondence between characters, just read really fast and phonetically, and you should be able to understand it.

When I bought the book, I’d never heard of it and knew nothing about it, but now I’m wondering why it hasn’t made it to the list of stories to butcher in to movies, because I think it would be really interesting, if it was done right.

Leave a Reply

