A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander book 6)

When I first read Outlander, I fell in love immediately. It was such a fast read, and I was both thrilled that it was a series, and nervous.

Nervous because everything was neatly wrapped up, and while it was open to continue, the question was, what would the next book be?

And I’ve had that question each time I’ve picked up the next installment, and A Breath of Snow and Ashes was no different. As, as with the others, I was not disappointed.

What I love about Diana Gabaldon’s writing is how she weaves real life into the twists and turns. And it never feels like slogging through excess content. Reading about the normalcy of her characters’ lives is enjoyable. Her writing style is what I strive to capture.

After Dragonfly in Amber, the second book, I expected the story to do what some do, and follow the lives of the children. But it has continued to follow Jamie and Claire, while weaving in other characters too.

I don’t want to say too much about the storyline, for fear of giving spoilers to the first five books, but suffice it to say Jamie and Claire find themselves once more walking a fine line, living in America on the eve of the Revolution. And while that is the overarching theme, there are plenty of subplots containing everything from kidnapping, murder, intrigue and treasure.

As always, it ends bittersweet, leaving the reader desperate for the next installment. I can’t quite decide if I want to rush through to the end, or prolong and savor the series. Either way, I’ve only got two more books to go (so far).

Leave a Reply

