Onward to NaNoWriMo

Tomorrow is the first day of November.

Which means it’s time to start a new writing project.

If I were a different person, I would just set myself to finishing the project I’ve got started. But, I’ll be honest, I don’t want to do that, so, I’m not going to. And, I haven’t even touched that project since last week, when I wrote a little so I could blog about it…

It just donned on me a few days ago that I should probably start some planning and prep for NaNo, like choose one of the ideas I’ve got scribbled down and at least flesh it out a little. So, I’ve begun. I’ve got the prologue planned, at least.

As much as I do frequently cherish the “fly by the seat of your pants” approach I’ve taken in years past, I also like the less stress the comes with planning and having general directions on where my story is going. Because the last thing I need in my life right now is more stress. So, I’ll be doing some more planning in these final hours. (I swear I intended to do it earlier.)

The working title for my NaNo project is “The Remnant Children,” and focuses on a young woman whose entire country is annihilated when she is 7 years old. The country was a tributary to a king, and when they tried to claim independence, he wiped them all out, allowing only children younger than 10 to live as slaves. She, conveniently, works for the king’s palace, and comes into contact, as an adult, with the prince, who was fed a very different version of events and is appalled when he learns the truth. He can see her desire for revenge, and even understand it. He has no undying love for his father, so now he much choose, does he help her get revenge, or advocate the path of forgiveness?

This isn’t nearly as detailed an outline as I’ve had before, and, as I said, as far as a chapter-by-chapter outline, I’ve got the prologue outlined. So, I’ve got my work cut out for me. Especially if I only have work breaks to work on it.

But! I’ve got the first two days of November off, which means I can give myself an excellent start to the month, and get myself ahead.

So, here’s to November, and all the hopes and  dreams it brings.

Leave a Reply

