Post-November plans

So I hit the goal of 50,000 words for my NaNoWriMo project. I, naturally, did not finish the story, however. I’ve got one final chapter to write, and everything to wrap up.

It’s hard to believe that is has only been about a week since I hit 50k, it feels like so much longer. I intended to start writing again yesterday, to get the final chapter knocked out and then start on a preliminary editing phase. But then I didn’t. Surprise, surprise.

But I’m going to. I’m at least going to finish the story and give it one read through.

For the month of December, I’m going to commit to doing some work on it, then, come January, I’ll give myself a status report and plan what to do next. Maybe I’ll do some editing, returning to old stories and projects. Maybe I’ll put myself to writing and finishing other old projects. What I do know is that I will hold off starting anything new, at least until November again. It’s time to make some progress with what I’ve already got and decide if any of it is going any further.

It will be hard, though, not to start a new project based on an idea I came up with, that actually came from a dream. That will probably be next November’s project, and I’m very excited to start planning and to see where it goes. But it’s not time for that yet.

Right now, it’s time to pretend that I’m not already a week into December with nothing to show for it (writing wise, anyway).

Leave a Reply

