The Town

With April bearing down on me, I find myself less prepared than I had anticipated for my writing project. In my defense (excuses), I was on vacation for a week with family, and now I’ve been busy working and trying to sleep, so…

My working title is “The Town.” Nothing fancy, but it helps me remember what I’m writing about, and spending time on a title before a book is written is a little presumptuous, I think. I never do know where my stories will end up.

I had expected that I would have a synopsis and detailed chapter outline done by now so I’d be completely ready come April 1, but, all I’ve got is the synopsis. So, with no more ado, here it is.

A young man is facing pressure. In his isolated mountain town, if a person isn’t married with kids and given society (or working on) something brilliant by 27, they are shunned. After the age of 27, they should not be having fun but raising successful children, then simply waiting to die. No one makes it past their 50th birthday.

The young man is approaching his 25 birthday, and has no girlfriend, no interest in one, and hasn’t thought of what he can contribute to society. Most men have settled by 25, giving up adventures around the age of 23 to get a head start in life.

The town believes you start dying at the age of 30, but he doesn’t buy it. He feels fine and has no interest in business or science, but he is seen as too wild to be allowed to teach the younger generation how to conform to society.

Now that it’s typed out, it doesn’t seem like that much to go on. Not nearly as much as it seemed when I wrote it. But, I’ve got a few days still to outline (if I can put down the book I’m reading, anyway).

I did, however, write some possible first sentences a few weeks ago, when I was doing Franz Kafka’s writing exercises, so I’ll share those with you now.

  1. It boggles the mind to feel so full of life when everyone around you tells you you are dying.
  2. [He] felt as vivacious as ever, despite everyone telling him he only had months of quality living left.
  3. As we grow into our mind, we take for granted certain ideas planted by society, and even if we don’t believe them in our hearts, our minds shout that they must be true.

I’m not sure I’ll use any of these options, or even the ideas, but I’d be interested to hear from you, my readers, if any of these sentences, or even just the gist of them, would entice you to keep reading (if there were more to read, anyway. Also interested in your thoughts on that last one, because I can’t remember now if I wrote that as a possible beginner for this story, or for something different).

Leave a Reply

