The beginning of week three

I’m caught up on my word count, and I’m going to chalk that up to miracle.

This week was a little rough. For the most part, I kept up each day (I only have to write like 1,200 words a day, so, if I put my head down, I can get that done within a half hour), but this weekend was definitely much harder. Not only was I working during the middle of the day, which makes it harder to carve out time, but some anxiety and depression decided to tag team me. Normally I would just take it out on my characters and kill someone, but unfortunately, my story doesn’t lend itself to that. It just wouldn’t make sense. And even though they say sometimes doing something unexpected moves your story along, I don’t think it’s the right option at this juncture.

But! I’m caught up, and that counts for something. I’m making it so.

Other things about my story are a little more embarrassing, including the fact that any time I write my main character’s name it is literally “MAN.” I really ought to give him a name, but, I have a hard time spending a half hour looking at baby name websites when could be using it to get ahead. So, I’m currently taking name suggestions.

My goal now is to get to 30,000 words by the end of this third week (despite my goal of 35,000 words, once I got started I decided I was going to shoot for 10,000 words a week. I didn’t make that this week, but if I get a day off or a quiet evening, I can make up some ground. After all, it’s just a matter of time (and a few thousand words, I think) before I get to rip MAN’s heart out, and that will probably make me feel a little bit better, at least for a little bit.

 

Leave a Reply

